Black Spiders – This Savage Land ★★★☆☆

969549_10151510296256227_1749304630_n (2)Energetic rockers from Sheffield, Black Spiders, are back with their new album ‘This Savage Land’. The 10 track album has everything from gentle ballads (well as slow as rock music can be!) to mega thunderous guitar led stompers, it really is a surprising pick ‘n’ mix of a record!

From the start it definitely stands out (let’s just say it’s a bit peculiar…); with ‘Knock You Out’ leading with a (creepy to say the least) robotic voice, it’s obvious  that this was going to be unique.

Definite tracks that HAVE to be listened to are the fast-paced ‘Teenage Knife Gang’ (video link below), the brash and ballsy (pardon the pun!) ‘Balls’ and the guitar slamming, in your face ‘Stick It to the Man’.

With the production of this album being funded by fans on a online pledge service website, it shows the dedication that many fans have to their bands especially ones that aren’t just reality show creations!

You can tell that the main influences behind the record range from classic Guns ‘N’ Roses and Black Sabbath to Madness-esque vibes, hats off to them for trying something a bit different with this record, when so many bands don’t. It may not be original in places, but what they lack in originality (only sometimes) they make up for with adrenaline.

Album listing:

01 – Knock You Out
02 – Stick It To The Man
03 – Balls
04 – Young Tongues
05 – Put Love In Its Place
06 – Raised By Wolves
07 – Trouble
08 – Teenage Knife Gang
09 – Creatures
10 – Sleepy Demon

Black Spiders will be back on the road in October this year with Hawk Eyes and Baby Godzilla:

3rd – Corporation, Sheffield

4th – Club Academy, Manchester

5th – O2 Academy, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

6th – Cathouse, Glasgow

8th – O2 Academy, Birmingham

9th – Thekla, Bristol

10th – Cellar, Southampton

11th – Electric Ballroom, London

Like this story? For more news on the music you care about, check out our pages!