ALBUM: Lower Than Atlantis – Lower Than Atlantis ★★☆☆☆


Artist: Lower Than Atlantis

Album: Lower Than Atlantis

Release Date: 6th October 2014

Label: Sony


With three albums in three years, it was time Lower Than Atlantis went away, and really took time on an album. In the two years off, frontman Mike Duce and drummer Eddy Thrower have been spending their time working with pop chart artists, 5 Seconds of Summer and One Direction, and now, their self-titled album ‘Lower Than Atlantis’ is here.

The album opener (Here We Go) is a hard hitting opening track that makes you take notice from the off. The heavy guitar and call to arms type lyrics really pull you in and grab your attention. With the first track set usually as a benchmark for what is to come throughout the album, the aggressive rock sound that opens the album only features in short doses within the album. (Criminal, Damn Nation)

The pop inspiration that the four piece have taken in over the break can be heard throughout the album and is staggered about everywhere. (Ain’t No Friend, English Kids in America, Emily, Time)

The backing track that opens the second song of the album (Ain’t No Friend) makes you question if you’re actually listening to Lower Than Atlantis or not, and similar to their second single (English Kids In America) the songs sound like an obvious attempt of a pop song that will get radio plays.

What made Lower Than Atlantis stand out above the rest was their heart and emotion that they put into each album. But the majority of the album sounds like manufactured pop with lyrics that have no meaning or relatability.

Six of the tracks on this self-titled album, Lower Than Atlantis sought out Jim Irvin, The Invisible Men and Julian Emery to help co-write tracks. Irvin has worked with artists such as Boyzone, David Guetta and Simple Plan, and Emery mostly known for her work with McFly both assisted the Hertfordshire boys with three tracks for the new album, (Time, Live Slow Die Young, Number One). And The Invisible Men who have worked with Jessie J, DJ Fresh and Iggy Azalea then assisted with the other three tracks (Words Don’t Come So Easily, Emily, Just What You Need)

Where Duce went alone and wrote, not surprisingly the best tracks on the album, (Here We Go, Criminal, Stays The Same). Mike Duce produced an honest account about how the band feel like they deserve more (Here We Go), a message to the naysayers about how he feels the band haven’t sold out, (Criminal) and a love song filled with heartfelt lyrics (Stays The Same) displaying the elements of Lower Than Atlantis that have got them this far. Rather than the co-written songs with the most stereotypical love song (Emily) about a girl called Emily, a track that sounds like a poor attempt of an Ed Sheeran song (Words Don’t Come So Easily) and a computerized voice as a pre chorus before attempting to drop into a pop hook (Time) that is utterly cringe worthy when you think back to what Lower Than Atlantis have produced in the past.

With this self-titled album, it seems that Lower Than Atlantis are accepting their love for pop music, and showing that this is the sound they want to create. The four piece have succeeded with creating a pop album that will get radio plays and no doubt do well in the charts, but in that, they have left out the heart and emotion that made them special, and stand out from the beginning.